Webinar: Data Skills Curricula Framework Implementation

You are here

19 Apr 2018

Webinar: Data Skills Curricula Framework Implementation

 
Date: 
Friday, 20 April, 2018 -
01:30 to 02:30

Hello All, 

ESIP's Data Management Training Working Group, the Belmont Forum e-Infrastructures and Data Management project, and the AGU/RDA/ESIP Enabling FAIR Data project are co-hosting a webinar this Thursday (19 April, 16:30 UTC) discussing ways to develop common data skills among researchers by sharing existing training resources. Input and discussion from ETHRD IG members is welcomed. Please see below for details. 

Webinar: Data Skills Curricula Framework Implementation (More information on the BF e-I&DM site).

Timeframe: Thursday, April 19, 2018 16:30 UTC (9:30 PDT/12:30 EDT/18:30 CEST)

CALL IN INFORMATION: https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/328507821

Who should attend: all involved in data skills capacity building, connecting researchers to data, developing science sharing materials or platforms, working to promote the principles of open science, or are curious about data literacy.

More information available here: http://bfe-inf.org/info/webinar-data-skills-curricula-framework

 

Details: How can the data community help researchers develop data skills?

From discipline specific venues for researchers to wide-ranging conferences and forums for data professionals, many groups are investigating data skills. There is a global interest in convergence on what skills are needed for different tasks, effective training methods, and where to find appropriate educational materials to help make data more shareable, open, transparent when possible, and FAIR (findable, accessible, interoperable, re-usable).  

On 19 April 2018, a one hour webinar will offer introductory information about a collaboratively developed Belmont Forum Data Skills Curricula Framework by a key author for the Framework, Vicky Lucas.  Ms. Lucas’ presentation will be followed by Q&A and discussion on collaboration opportunities, development options, and related topics.  

The webinar is co-hosted by the Belmont Forum e-Infrastructures and Data Management project, ESIP’s Data Management Training Working Group, and the AGU/RDA/ESIP Enabling FAIR Data project.  

Call-in information can also be found on the ESIP telecon calendar at:  http://www.esipfed.org/telecons under “Data Management Training Webinar”.  The webinar will be recorded and made available for listening after the event.  Questions can be directed to Belmont Forum e-I&DM Training Coordinator, Rowena Davis (rowenaidavis@email.arizona.edu), or ESIP Data Management Training Working Group Chair, Nancy Hoebelheinrich  (nhoebel@kmotifs.com).

Apologies for cross posting. 

Thank you, 

Rowena Davis

Group content visibility: 
Use group defaults